A Book Review: The Leopard Vanguard (The Leopard King Saga 1), T.A. Uner

7116396

The Leopard Vanguard, Tome One of The Leopard King Saga

By T.A. Uner

Amazon link http://amzn.com/B00EP6SODU

The author’s website.  http://leopardkingsaga.com

A Centurion of the Roman army, Tullus’ life has changed after he rescued Tribune Norbanus in the battle and was offered a luxurious  position in the Praetorian Guard in the capital: entangled in the Imperial politics, falling in love with a Senate’s daughter, and the most dangerous secret of the Empire.

*The author gave me earlier a digital copy for an honest review. I had many things to be done at that time, and couldn’t start reading it for a while. The patient author kindly sent me a revised version. So I feel obliged to write honestly.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, though in a different way I had expected. The book is full of adventure.

Actually, I didn’t like the sex part. Well, I often feel the same even reading GRRM, so it might be okay with others. I also noticed some repetitious words and similar descriptions that don’t sound sophisticated.

I liked the supernatural creatures, and I enjoyed the parts like “The unexpected victory is always the sweetest”. I mostly hated the antagonist, but he also seems to have some secrets that might be revealed in the later volumes. I like to know more about “the golds”. But, unfortunately, it wasn’t convincing enough to make me buy the second book.

That said, I checked Amazon for details for this review, and found that I can read the second volume for free with Amazon prime. So my impression might change if I read the tome two later.

Leave a Reply

