Grab some tissues, manga fans! First new Rose of Versailles volume in 40 years coming soon

Well, I saw on twitter earlier today my fellow fans’ comments with mixed feelings.

Anyway, I was one of big fans back then. One of my first comic books, well, it’s decades ago, when I was in preschool, was one of the volumes of this “The Rose of Versailles”. One of my young aunts gave it to me. Back then, it was like every girl, most of them were, of course way older than me, was crazy about girls comic. Even one of my older cousins wanted to be a manga artist.

I wasn’t a Oscar girl who had a crush on her. My first book was after the Revolution. I was so fascinated and influenced by Marie Antoinette in the story. I think that’s one of the reasons later I came to love French paintings like François Boucher’s.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Rose_of_Versailles
The Rose of Versailles(ベルサイユのばら Berusaiyu no Bara)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fran%C3%A7ois_Boucher
François Boucher

SoraNews24

RV 4

In Japan, the easy access to anime and manga, coupled with the rapid speed at which new content is produced, means fans tend to have short memories. For most series, even relative hits, once they wrap up there’s only about a year, or at most two, until they fade into obscurity.

Which is why it’s all the more impressive when a once-loved series returns after a long hiatus. Last year, boys of all ages got a special treat with a new Dragon Ball Z movie, and this month brings a little something for the ladies, with the first new volume of girls’ comic classic The Rose of Versailles to be released in more than 40 years.

View original post 395 more words

Leave a Reply

