Daily Prompt: Great Expectations and a new online course on Tolkien

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/great-expectations/

Tell us about one thing (or more) that you promised yourself you’d accomplish by the end of the year. How would you feel once you do? What if you don’t?

 

In Japan, a famous saying goes like this. If you want to plan your new year well you should make the plan first thing in the morning of the New Year’s Day. As a child, I often made a New Year’s resolution to keep a diary. Another famous saying says “Mikka Bouzu”, meaning most people keep their resolution for only three days. I ended up too often giving up mine even before the third day. 😛

 

Since I started reading books in English and learning English again several years ago, I think I’m doing well enough. But I always feel there are too many things to enjoy and too less time to do that. It happens so often that just after resolving to something, another comes up suddenly.

 

It feels like I’ve been saying to my friends I will catch up with The Tolkien Professor Podcast by the end of the year for the past few years, but I still have hundreds of episodes. That made me feel kind of guilty that I hadn’t read The Lord of the Rings in English, and I’m still reading it now!

http://www.tolkienprofessor.com/wp/about/professor-olsen/

 

A bit earlier this year, I found this one and started reading “Unfinished Tales”, but the course had already started, so my reading’s been also pending.

http://www.mythgard.org/academy/unfinished-tales/

 

Just a few weeks ago I resolved to read my collection of Tanith Lee’s books printed and ebooks by the end of this year. Approximately 50 more books to read, so quite hopeless. 😀

 

And just Last week, I saw a tweet by Professor Olsen, The Tolkien Professor, on this latest course on The Book of Lost Tales.

http://www.mythgard.org/academy/the-book-of-lost-tales-part-i/

Week 1 live class is May 20 at 9:30 PM EDT. I managed to read the required reading for it. I think I like this one better than The Silmarillion in some sense. I hope I can make it this time. 🙂 And hope to finish reading those Middle-Earth titles before it gets so hot here.

 

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Great Expectations and a new online course on Tolkien

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt – Great Expectations | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Great Expectations of a Golden Oldie | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: The Line, Tight or Slack | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: I’ve Started So I’ll Finish! A New Way of Writing a Book | lynnesartandsoul

  5. Pingback: You’re Beautiful,…. | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  6. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Great Expectations | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

