Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/writing-challenge-names/

“The power of names

 

For this week’s challenge, we’re asking you to explore your history with names. What meaning does your name have to you? What power does it have over you? Do you have a nickname when you are at home, but not in the world at large? Or vice versa?”

 

 

When I was born, my father had only a boy’s name in his mind and decided my name in a very haste. Well, this was a kind of favorite topic about my name in our family when I was very small. In Japan, and in the past, as in many countries, parents wanted to have boy children. Even when I was born I guess. And it might be forgivable. 😀 Because my father is a man anyway. I turned out to be the only child of our family. So, I often imagined how he should have wanted a boy. He had thought only I would be a boy just until I was actually born. So he hadn’t thought seriously about a girl’s name. I often asked him when I was a kid what name I would have supposed to have if I had been a boy. He claimed he had forgotten it. Maybe he was calling me by that boy name when I was in my mother’s womb. Maybe that’s why I wasn’t so interested in some of girls’ toys. 😀

 

About my online nick name “seikaiha”.

 

https://seikaiha.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/zero-to-hero-30-days-day2-whats-my-name-about-my-name-the-name-of-my-blog-and-my-intention-here/ 

3 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names

  1. Pingback: Stuck on Conchiglie | litadoolan

  2. Pingback: We, the Dragons, shall live, for all eternity! | Wired With Words

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | Cancer Isn't Pink

Leave a Reply

