Daily Prompt: I Believe

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/daily-prompt-i-believe/

“For today’s prompt, tell us three things that you believe in your heart to be true. Tell us three things you believe in your heart to be false.”

 

It’s a difficult prompt! I don’t want to say anything that might offend others. It might be safe for me to talk about what I believed when I was a child. Sorry, I might not be able to name all three.

 

It might be kind of silly. But some of you might remember when you believed you were secretly some king and queen’s daughter, or you happened to be a princess of another world. Well, I know, today’s kids might not believe in these silly  things. But they actually should!

 

When I was a child, I always thought I shouldn’t be here, here on earth, on this plane. I kind of felt I was feeling very different from other kids. I imagined if I went through a certain Torii gate of the local Japanese Shinto shrine, I might be able to go into another world which I believed I truly belonged to. Maybe I still believe there are a few places where those gates exist. 😉

 

What are Torii gates?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Torii

https://www.google.co.jp/search?q=torii+gate&hl=ja&rlz=1T4FTJB_jaJP459JP459&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=La4lU5eJIYLvkQX3gIGIAw&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAQ&biw=1031&bih=578

16 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: I Believe

  1. Pingback: I believe… | Words 'n Pics...

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Be Leafs | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  5. Pingback: “I believe I can fly” .. Wait, what? | jigokucho

  6. Pingback: I Believe I Don’t Believe | B.Kaotic

  7. is your believe Shinto? Now that is one faith, I have not have the pleasure of studying in detail. Thanks for the link, will read up on the gates you spoke off – oh and a declaration of what you believe (or do not believe) is not offensive, it is just sharing. There is space for all believes (at least in my mind). Hugs from a Pagan friend

    • Thanks, Claudia. 🙂
      For many Japanese, I think our religion or faith is more like a tradition and culture or a way of living. Some people in other countries might think we are faithless because most of us celebrate New Year by going to Shinto shrines, doing funerals prisided by Buddhist priests, and some of us have a chapel wedding. We appreciate Christmas too, mostly having parties, cakes and believing in Santa. 😀 BTW, I’m a great fan of Marion Zimmer Bradley and I really appreciate myths and cultures pre-Christian.

  8. Pingback: I Don’t Believe | Knowledge Addiction

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe ~~ My thoughts |

  10. Pingback: Believe Me You | Views Splash!

  11. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 75] I believe… | Never A Worry

  12. Pingback: I believe… | MsMissyLeigh

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

