Daily Prompt: Do I Look..?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/prompt-sleep/

“Have you ever eavesdropped on a conversation you weren’t supposed to? Tell us about a time when it was impossible not to overhear a conversation between people who didn’t know you were there. What was the conversation about? How did it make you feel?”

 

When the day’s daily prompt is out, it’s around ten o’clock at night in Japan. I mostly want to go to bed by twelve, and the earlier the better. Even a little bit. So, it’s always hard for me to think about the theme and write down my stuff in a hurry. Then last night I simply gave up on this one. I also thought that it might be better to sleep on it.

 

So I slept on it. And this is my response to it.

 

When I was in junior high, one day I had a headache or something. I asked the teacher to let me go to the school nurse’s room. Unfortunately, she happened to be having something, and wasn’t in the room. So I went to the teachers’ office and was given some medicine anyway.

 

I was resting in the teachers’ room. There were some teachers in the room who didn’t have classes on that hours. They started talking about many things. Just chatting, of course. But, they must have been kind of unaware of my presence, because several teachers were talking about their offences of traffic laws. Like drunken driving and speeding offences. A very strict teacher, who was in charge of students’ discipline, was talking about his car chase with the police. Well, not like in the U.S. movies and dramas. He just drove away from the traffic police car. And our police don’t shoot at you just because of a traffic offence.

 

I didn’t talk to anyone about this back then. Well, not to no one, actually. I told my father and laughed about it. I thought they were just ordinary humans.

 

I don’t know why, but people around me often speak secrets while I’m in the same room, even if I’m not a participant of the conversation. Do I look like a person who knows how to keep a secret? Well, I’m dying to know secrets and dying to tell them. At least I’m always listening to them. 😀

 

As for the drunk driving, The laws against it has become really strict because of many tragedies in the last decade, and employers became harsh against those serious offenders. It would cost public and big company employees their job.

 

Leave a Reply

