Daily Prompt: Shake it Up

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/daily-prompt-shake-it-up/

“You’re 12 years old. It’s your birthday. Write for ten minutes on that memory. GO. “

 

I’m a six-grader in elementary school. It’s December now. I’m going to graduate from elementary and go to junior high school next spring.

 

My father got ill in April last year. He had been hospitalized for a few month. Had a surgery. He got better now. But I was really worried that he might die. He’s strong but he’s not truly the same as he was before.

 

I started being kind of practical. Or realistic. I wanted be a child a bit longer. He got married late, so had the firstborn, me, late. I started to realize what that meant. I wanted to become a writer. I wanted to become a painter. I wanted to be with my dog longer. I started to behave better. I often weep alone. I started writing poems on my happy old days.

 

 

Well, don’t worry! My father is still alive and well. Can you believe it? He’s in his 80s now! So it’s okay. But sometimes, I also feel a bit sad for the things I lost back then.

14 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Shake it Up

  1. Childhood like other stages of life is not forever. Its sad when it is short, but better to mature early then to be like people who never really grow up and accept their responsibilities. “12” is a tough year. You are neither a little girl nor a teen. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shake It Up | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: BIRTHDAYS AND OTHER DAYS OF JOY | SERENDIPITY

  4. Pingback: Twelve: Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  5. Pingback: Happy Birthday Chump! | Views Splash!

  6. Pingback: In which I know nothing at all | Infinitefreetime

  7. Pingback: My World: My Eyes – Earth’s Candle | Dibbler Dabbler

  8. Pingback: I think i have to lie | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  9. Pingback: wrecked more or less | peacefulblessedstar

  10. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 55] Snowball fight (Fiction) | Never A Worry

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | The Wandering Poet

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  13. Pingback: Shake it Up | Alexia Jones

Leave a Reply

