On E-Books

I’m struggling to write my essay on the merits and demerits of ebook for a writing course at edX. I need to finish some brainstorming and my draft in several hours. Well, I just made up my mind to write on this topic just a few hours ago.

 

I was thinking about this particular theme after I read and listened to Neil Gaiman’s lecture on reading,

http://readingagency.org.uk/news/blog/neil-gaiman-lecture-in-full.html

and after I read Cory Doctorow’s “Little Brother” for Fantasy and Science Fiction course at Coursera last year.

http://craphound.com/littlebrother/download/

 

An Amazon Kindle has changed my reading habit entirely. But I still have shelves of printed books, and I want to support my local bookstores somehow.

 

Well, I need to go back to my essay writing now. I hope to write about my thoughts and feelings for ebooks and printed books further after I finish my draft. If you haven’t heard of Neil Gaiman’s wonderful lecture and Cory Doctrow’s “Little Brother”, why don’t you check them out? I like the author’s introduction to “Little Brother” and the reviews on his favorite physical bookstores in it.

Leave a Reply

