My Zero to Hero 30 Days: Day2 What’s my name? About my name, the name of my blog and my intention here

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/zero-to-hero/

Today’s assignment is “edit your title and tagline, and flesh them out more in a widget”. Well, I think that’s a difficult one. The name of my blog here is “seikaiha’s” until I rename it after this post.

First of all, my name for here is “seikaiha”. I’ve been using this as my online nickname for several years. It’s a Japanese word. I got it from the name of a certain character’s horse in one of my favorite books. It was kind of a renowned name for great warhorses in old days. “Sei-kai-ha”, also pronounced like “Sei-gai-ha”, basically means a wave-like pattern like this for Kimono.

https://www.google.co.jp/search?q=%E9%9D%92%E6%B5%B7%E6%B3%A2&hl=ja&rlz=1T4FTJB_jaJP459JP459&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=zyH6UpOCK8GekQW3rYCABQ&ved=0CDkQsAQ

It is said that the pattern originally came from China. In Japan, it was also used for garments for “Gagaku”, ancient imperial court music and dances, in Hei-an era, like in “The Tale of Genji”. Because of this there is a Gagaku play called “Seigaiha”, too.

As I said yeasterday’s post, I’d like to write about my thinking and favorite topics like books. I also like writing. So, I want to do some practice here, but I don’t want to think of you just that way. I don’t like to put a name like “Seikaiha’s Writing Challenge” on my blog. So, it’s a difficult task again.

I’ll just name here “seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah”.

It’s not a joke. I mean it!

https://seikaiha.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/my-zero-to-hero-30-days-day1-introduce-myself/
If you are new here, check the Day1 on myself and this blog.

3 thoughts on “My Zero to Hero 30 Days: Day2 What’s my name? About my name, the name of my blog and my intention here

  1. I’m struggling with a more permanent name for my blog too 😦 I like the uniqueness of the name you have and I also like the explanation. Maybe a picture would help bring the theme to life. I also like what you said in the post where you introduced yourself. I’m on my iPhone right now waiting to pick my 7 year-old son up from school, so I can’t follow all the links but I think I’ll check back later… I’m curious about Ray Bradbury’s 1000 word method. I loved Fahrenheit 451 (I didn’t think I would.)

    • Hi, thanks for your comment. 🙂 You are the first person to comment on my blog, aside from my friends. It’s morning here. It’s great to receive comments from people around the globe. I hope these interactions work well for both of us. Ray Bradbury advised aspiring writers to write “One-thousand or two-thousand words every day for the next twenty years”, in his “Zen in the Art of Writing”. I had read only this book in translation decades ago. I always liked reading and writing, so even if I couldn’t become strong enough to try his method seriously even in my own language, I’ve had his advice in mind. I still think writing constantly helps us think deeper, so I decided to write in English too. As for Bradbury, I read his The Martian Chronicles for Coursera’s F&SF class last year.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah

Leave a Reply

