Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/daily-post-take-that-rosetta/

Today’s daily prompt is this. “If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills?”

I’m wondering what I’m going to write to it. Which language do you choose? And what are you going to do with the skills?

Maybe I could get fluent in German or French to read books in either of them. I don’t know which language is rich in books in my favorite genre. Hey, if I were fluent in German, I could go see operas in Germany, too! Or maybe I could get fluent in Chinese and read all the old Chinese masterpieces! Oh, I’d rather like to become young again to do that. It would need a lifetime to enjoy those skills. I still need two lifetimes to enjoy English and Japanese masterpieces.

18 thoughts on “Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta!

  1. Pingback: ANYONE WANT SOME TONGUE? | SERENDIPITY

  2. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That Rosetta! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | ferwam

  4. Pingback: Mother tongue | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Grüezi! Daily Post | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  6. Pingback: How Speaking French Could Make You Sexy! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  7. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Spanish Lessons For The Road

  8. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | To Breathe is to Write

  9. Pingback: Parlez Vous Francais? | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star

  10. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | The Wandering Poet

  11. Pingback: Speak To Me | Edward Hotspur

  12. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  13. For me it would be ASL (American Sign Language.) I love languages – I’ve had a facination with forign languages since I was a child. I’ve picked up words and phrases in Spanish, Italian, French, Portuguese, Hebrew, Arabic, German, Polish, and Chinese to name a few. I wish I was fluent in just one of them. Learning a language is hard work. For me the hardest part is practice speaking (I get shy) but my reading and writing is always better than my speaking. My son is hearing impaired so I have spent the last 5 years trying to develop fluency in ASL. It’s difficult because my son doesn’t go to a deaf school and I have no teacher. The little bit of ASL I know (approximately 500 signs) is a toddler vocabulary. This little bit has gone a long way to helping me teach my non-verbal autistic, legally deaf blind son to communicate. ASL focuses on concepts and facial expression which are building blocks for teaching my son.

    • Thanks. I’m shy too. I like reading, but I believe all language skills are inter-connected. I’m always talking to myself while thinking about my next post, comment or reply.
      I learned Russian just for a year in college as my second foreign language. Now I only remember several greetings. And I’m regretting that watching the coverage of Sochi Olympics.
      I don’t think I can understand even a fraction of your difficulties. But, I guess learning languages requires patience and confidence. And love.

Leave a Reply

