My reading bucketlist is always expanding.

When I talk to someone about books, I almost always end up talking about how rapidly my reading bucket list is expanding. I got back to reading fantasy novels in English a few years ago. 

Currently I’m reading Tolkien’s books to catch up with Professor Corey Olsen’s podcast lectures. I’m kind of a late-comer to Tolkien. I had read The Lord of the Rings in translation so many years ago. I was a bit cross with him back then  because of his some comments on C. S. Lewis. I’ve been a great fan of C. S. Lewis. Yeah, you don’t need to tell me they were friends. 

Late last year, I took “Fantasy and Science Fiction: The Human Mind, Our Modern World” course at Coursera.org. It greatly expanded my list.

https://www.coursera.org/course/fantasysf 

I still have so many books to read and re-read. I got my first Amazon Kindle reader three years ago, and since then, I’ve been feeling panicked that lots of my favorite ones are becoming available. 

My favorite writers and books are like: Tanith Lee, especially her Flat Earth books; Michael Moorcock’s Eternal Champion, especially Elric; Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Avalon and Darkover; and G. R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. 

I’m one of those who follows the most popular theory of Jon Snow’s parentage. I could talk about that one until you don’t want to listen to me anymore. I’m also harboring the feeling that Martin got some concepts from Bradley’s Darkover. 

Oops, I’m afraid it’s time to go back to reading. Or I won’t be able to read them all in my lifetime!

One thought on “My reading bucketlist is always expanding.

  1. Pingback: My Zero to Hero 30 Days: Day1 Introduce Myself | seikaiha's

Leave a Reply

